The Cooper Street Relic

Just another blog from The Republic Of Hespeler

Prairie Home Invasion (1994) is a Jello Biafra and Mojo Nixon Collaboration and is a humorous take on the American Public radio program A Prairie Home Companion and an album from rapper Ice-t called Home Invasion and is not exactly an album for the easily insulted and the politically correct folks out there. With songs like ARE YOU DRINKING WITH ME JESUS and WILL THE FETUS BE ABORTED there is plenty on this album to cause emotions to run high, but then again anyone who knows jello Biafra and Mojo Nixon is not exactly coming into it unaware.  Some of the songs are covers like Phil Ochs LOVE ME I AM A LIBERAL and ATOMIC POWER by Fred Kirby while others like the aforementioned WILL THE FETUS BE ABORTED is a re-working of the folk classic WILL THE CIRCLE BE UNBROKEN, Mojo and Jello though wrote most of the material including the HAMLET CHICKEN PLANT DISASTER  which is a true story of a fire that killed 25 employees of a chicken processing plant when they were locked inside the plant in North Carolina in 1991. Most of the songs are an upbeat Hillbilly punk style or as it gets classified COWPUNK, and is 62 minutes of pure musical enjoyment. And as usual Nixon’s backup band The Toadliquors are in fine form, this is an album that sadly will never get airplay and will most likely remain a cult classic.

Track listing

  1. “Buy My Snake Oil” – 9:07
  2. “Where Are We Gonna Work (When the Trees Are Gone?)” – 3:12 (Darryl Cherney cover)
  3. “Convoy in the Sky” – 3:33
  4. “Atomic Power” – 3:06 (Fred Kirby cover)
  5. “Are You Drinking With Me Jesus?” – 3:10 (Lou and Peter Berryman cover)
  6. “Love Me, I’m a Liberal” – 4:01 (Phil Ochs cover)
  7. “Burgers of Wrath” – 3:51
  8. “Nostalgia for an Age That Never Existed” – 4:56
  9. “Hamlet Chicken Plant Disaster” – 3:48
  10. “Mascot Mania” – 4:50
  11. “Let’s Go Burn Ole Nashville Down” – 2:38 (to the tune of Old Joe Clark)
  12. “Will the Fetus Be Aborted?” – 3:42 (to the tune of Will the Circle Be Unbroken?)
  13. “Plastic Jesus” – 4:31 (Ed Rush and George Cromarty cover)

%d bloggers like this: